celiac's disease · food · gluten-free · lifestyle · restaurant review · travel · vacation

Wicked Waffle

download

Now, I frequent the DC area, mostly because my boyfriend goes to school there.  But it has been an adventure trying to find places for me to eat since being diagnosed with Celiac.  This past year we have discovered many Celiac-friendly places, one of them being Wicked Waffle.

Wicked Waffle has a couple of locations around the Capital.  It is a small restaurant, and it is very busy.  The menu has breakfast sandwiches (made on waffles) and waffles with all different types of toppings.  You can get savory, or sweet toppings, and any type of breakfast sandwich you could imagine.  The flavors range from chocolate and Nutella to chicken and waffles.

I ordered a waffle with strawberries and whipped cream.  They use a separate cooking station for their gluten-free waffles, which was really exciting because I didn’t even worry about cross-contamination.  The gluten-free waffle took almost the same amount of time as a regular waffle, but since they are a very busy business, I still got mine a bit after my boyfriend because he ordered first.  However, the wait was not too long, and I got my waffle before I got too hungry.

The strawberries were very fresh, and the whipped cream was ~amazing~ I honestly wish I had more now.  The waffle that you get is plenty big enough for a meal, it kept me full for a very long time.  Needless to say, Shane and I approve and if you are ever in the area, you should absolutely stop in.

Processed with VSCO with h4 preset
Processed with VSCO with h4 preset
Leave a Reply

