challenge · college · lifestyle · personal · Uncategorized

The Reality of Greek Life

I know what you’re thinking, you’re about to read about some stereotypical scandal.  I’m just going to let my story do the talking.

Hi, my name is Alison, and I am a member of Delta Phi Epsilon International (we have chapters in Canada) Sorority.  I’ve decided to confront some of the vicious, malicious, and insidious stereotypes and rumors that the media and Hollywood like to paint Greek life as.

To do this, let me give you some back story.  My first year at college was really hard; I don’t think that I was prepared for the transition as much as I thought, and I had a very hard time making friends.  I fell into a bit of a depression, and it was just really hard to get through.  So, I decided to transfer schools.  When I got to my new school, I knew that I needed to do something differently, so I decided to join a sorority.  And it was the absolute best decision that I could have made for myself.  My chapter is a group of empowered women, who are committed to lifting each other up.  Delta Phi Epsilon was founded on the principles of Justice, Sisterhood, and Love, and that is something that we embody on a daily basis.  To give you a better picture, I’ve decided to, well, give you pictures.20160630_160302

 

This is me (and the Philly Phanatic) at registration for Delta Phi Epsilon’s International Leadership Convention, where I was lucky enough to score an internship.  Delta Phi Epsilon, like many sororities, is committed to the betterment of its members, which includes helping them in career endeavors by offering internships, as well as leadership workshops (called Engage-U).  Convention is biennial and this year there were over 500 women in attendance.  These women heard from a number of inspiring and empowered speakers, and got to build relationships across generations.  Every sorority has something like this, and it is a great way to not only network, but also learn more about themselves and their sorority.

I know you are just dying to see me slip up and mention all the fun we have.  So here it goes.

Processed with VSCO with c2 preset
Putting the fun in FUNdraising

Here I am, having a blast and getting a pie in the face for one of my campus’s favorite fundraisers.  It is basically a rite of passage at my school to hold a pie fundraiser, and it is a great way to raise money.  Plus, it’s pretty tasty.

We also raise money for our philanthropies by hosting fun events.

Processed with VSCO with s1 preset
ANAD (The National Association for Anorexia Nervosa and Associated Disorders) Week is a week that our chapter puts on to promote body positivity and empowerment.
Processed with VSCO with q4 preset
Our first Deepher Dude was a huge success, and we were able to raise money towards the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. Delta Phi Epsilon is the largest donor, since the government does not fund it.

Every Greek organization has one (or more) philanthropies that they work directly with as a national (or international) organization.  Service and philanthropy, while both integral parts of being a member of the Greek community, are different.  Philanthropies are what each organization is committed to raising money and awareness for, while service is about committing time and energy.

Processed with VSCO with s3 preset
Volunteering at the Polar Bear Plunge was a lot of fun.
Processed with VSCO with q9 preset
Martin Luther King day of service. The participants consisted of almost exclusively Greeks, and a few other very committed folks.

Being in a sorority is also about sisterhood.  Love.  Friendship.

FB_IMG_1458229208841
Waiting to welcome home our new members on bid day. After a long recruitment process, we couldn’t wait to see all of our hard work pay off when we saw our new members running home.
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
This is my little. I know, oh God, a Greek term!! This means that this girl and I chose each other to be a family. She is one of the most amazing girls that I know, and someone I know I can turn to for anything.

Being Greek is so much more than just a set of letters sewn on a shirt.  It’s more than the partying and stuff that you see on TV.  It is the best decision I have made at college, and the fun that I have with my sisters is just an added bonus.

Processed with VSCO
Two of my lovely sisters, and two of our dates looking classy and elegant for formal, because who doesn’t like to feel like a queen?
avatar_1461819756810
My boyfriend and I at formal. Yes!! A committed (long-distance) relationship, and I’m in a sorority??? Amazing.

 

One thought on “The Reality of Greek Life

Leave a Reply

